Skip to content
The content on this page has yet to be rewritten for GOV.WALES. It is still correct and up-to-date.

European Territorial Cooperation programmes 2014-2020

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
The European Territorial Co-operation (ETC) programme 2014-2020 provides opportunities for regions in the EU to work together to address common social, economic and environmental challenges.

Wales is involved in the following ETC programmes:

Ireland Wales Programme

Ireland Wales Programme  (external website): provides opportunities for organisations on the West coast of Wales and the South-East coast of Ireland to work together to address common economic, environmental and social challenges.

We are the managing authority for the programme. We are continuing to develop and approve applications for EU funds. For further information contact:

Atlantic Area Programme

Atlantic Area programme (external link): a sea-focused transnational programme that’s worth €140m in ERDF funding. Aims to find solutions to regional challenges in the fields of innovation, resource efficiency, environment and cultural assets, supporting regional development and sustainable growth. 

The programme links regions on the Atlantic coast including Ireland, areas of France, Spain including Canary Islands,  Portugal including the Azores and Madeira and areas of the UK, including all of Wales. The Managing Authority is the North Regional Co-ordination and Development Commission (CCDR) in Porto, Portugal.
The first projects for this programme have now been approved.  The second call for projects closed on 13 June 2018.

Atlantic Area Contact Point: Guillaume Le Palud           

North West Europe Programme

North West Europe programme (external link): this transnational programme is worth €396m in ERDF funding. It encourages organisations to work collaboratively to improve the economic, environmental, social and territorial development within the regions.  The programme links the UK (including all of Wales) with Ireland, Belgium, Luxembourg and areas of France, Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland. 

The managing authority (external link) is the Nord-Pas de Calais region in Lille, France. 

The ninth call (external link) for project proposals is now open.  Deadline 14 June 2019.

North West Europe contact points:

Filippo Compagni 

Interreg Europe

Interreg EUROPE (external link): this interregional programme, worth €359m in ERDF funding, covers the EU28 plus Switzerland and Norway and is aimed at policy exchange across EU regions. The managing authority (external link) is the Nord-Pas de Calais region in Lille, France. 

URBACT III (external link): this interregional programme, worth €74m in ERDF funding, covers the EU28 plus Switzerland and Norway. URBACT promotes sustainable urban development and enables European cities to work together to develop solutions to urban challenges. The managing authority is the General Secretariat of the Inter Ministerial Committee of Cities (SGCIV) responsible to the French Ministry of Urban Policy. 

URBACT UK Contact Point: Ian Hill

ESPON 2020 (external link): worth €41m in ERDF funding, ESPON (European Observation Network for Territorial Development and Cohesion) covers the EU28 plus Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

INTERACT (external link): these programmes are underpinned by the INTERACT programme, covering the EU28 plus Norway and Switzerland and worth €39m in ERDF funding.  INTERACT is the hub for exchanging information and best practice amongst ETC programmes.

How to apply

Each programme has a specific application process as they are administered by different managing authority. Please contact the ETC Team for further information about funding opportunities which could be available to your organisation: