Skip to content
The content on this page has yet to be rewritten for GOV.WALES. It is still correct and up-to-date.

Enterprise Zones Wales

Related Links

Non Domestic Rates (NDR) are also known as Business Rates and are a property tax paid on domestic properties.
Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

Enterprise Zones offer specific incentives to attract new business to prime locations in Wales using a tailor-made Welsh solution.

Enterprise Zones objectives are to:

  • grow the local economy and provision of new jobs
  • act as a catalyst for growth elsewhere in Wales
  • improve the attractiveness of the Enterprise Zone for investors
  • strengthen the competitiveness of the Welsh economy.

Each area focuses on a key target sector. The sector approach is a crucial part of Welsh Government's continued commitment to creating jobs and sustainable growth.

There are 8 zones:

  • Anglesey - focusing on the energy sector
  • Central Cardiff - focusing on financial and professional services sector
  • Deeside - focusing on the advanced manufacturing sector 
  • Ebbw Vale - focusing on the advanced manufacturing sector
  • Haven Waterway - focusing on the energy and environment sector
  • Snowdonia - focusing on the energy and environment and ICT sectors
  • Cardiff Airport and St Athan Enterprise Zone - focusing on the aerospace sector
  • Port Talbot Waterfront - focusing on the advanced manufacturing, energy and environment and construction sectors.

Enterprise Zone Boards

Each Enterprise Zone has an independent private-sector led advisory board.

The role of the Enterprise Zone Boards is to advise the Welsh Government on the implementation and delivery of action plans and priorities for the Zones, including:

  • strategic advice towards investment opportunities
  • encouraging supply chain development
  • identifying property and infrastructure needs
  • marketing and promotion of Enterprise Boards.

Each board can be found on the Enterprise Zones Wales specific Zone.

Enhanced Capital Allowances

HM Treasury offers Enhanced Capital Allowances (ECAs) at certain sites within a number of designated Enterprise across the UK where there is a strong focus on manufacturing.

Introduced in the 2012 Finance Act, ECAs enable businesses to claim a 100% first year allowance for the capital cost of investment in plant and equipment made before 31 March 2020.

You can find more details of the scheme on the HMRC website (external link).

In Wales, ECAs are available within designated areas at:

  • Deeside Enterprise Zone
  • Ebbw Vale
  • Haven Waterway Enterprise Zone
  • Port Talbot Waterfront.

Tier 1 areas

Anglesey, Ebbw Vale, Haven Waterway and Snowdonia Enterprise Zones are located within Tier 1 areas, which means that companies within these Zones can potentially benefit from the highest level of grant aid in the UK.

Further information

Email the EZBRS team:

Website: Enterprise Zones Wales (external link).